Lighter Mac & Cheese

I love baked macaroni and cheese, but I haven’t made it in ages–probably since late 2008!

Back then, after starting Weight Watchers I made a reduced fat version, with low-fat Velveeta and a little more reduced-fat cheddar cheese, but I decided to take the calorie and fat counts down a little lower today. With my attempt today, if you speak Weight Watchers-ese, I cut the POINTS per serving on my older recipe by 3.

Here’s my recipe for 12 servings. One serving was enough for an entree portion for me. (I added turkey ham, as you’ll see below, to boost the flavor and to also flesh this out as an entree dish.) I ate it with 1/2 cup of cooked spinach on the side.

  • 16 oz whole wheat elbow macaroni
  • 3 cups fat-free evaporated milk
  • 16 oz fat-free cheddar (I went with the individually-wrapped slices and diced a stack of them)
  • 3 Tbsp light butter
  • 1 Tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 C fat-free egg substitute
  • 4 cups reduced fat cheddar cheese
  • 7.5 oz Jenny-O extra lean turkey ham, diced

Cook macaroni, drain, and place in a 13×9 baking pan.

In a saucepan, melt butter. Gradually add flour, and stir until thickened.

Add two cups of the fat-free evaporated milk; stir until smooth.

Add all of the fat-free cheese and half of the shredded cheese to the milk mixture, along with the turkey ham. (I also added some Goya Adobo at this point; feel free to experiment with other spices.) Stir until cheese is melted and sauce is thickened.

Pour sauce into the baking pan of macaroni. Stir in the remaining shredded cheese.

Mix the remaining 1 cup of fat-free evaporated milk with the 1 cup of liquid eggs. Pour into the macaroni mixture, and blend everything together.

Cook in a 350 oven until firm. Cut into 12 pieces.

The end result? I had the same kind of consistency as I’d expect from baked mac & cheese. I would experiment with the spices to improve the taste a little bit.

Sidebar: I can’t say enough about Jenny-O turkey ham. If you don’t have one on hand, I strongly encourage you to give it a try for a low-fat, low-calorie protein. Here’s a blog post I made earlier on the versatile turkey ham.

Leave a Reply

