July at Christmas Time

OK, maybe we’re a little past Christmas, but even as we edge toward February, you’re probably craving warmer temperatures. You also may be craving something prepared on the grill.

I love grilled food. A lot. I’ve found it to be very compatible with Weight Watchers, as long as I choose lean meats to grill. Grilling is a great way to add flavor without adding fat.

You can see me grilling outside when the weather’s warm and comfortable. But I don’t stop there. I have a little electric grill that’s been in my possession for nearly 10 years, and during these winter days, I plug it in and crank it up pretty often.

Although I’m sure the Foreman Grill is a handy appliance, my grill doesn’t have a swing-top double grilling surface. I opted for an open design because I thought it would be more versatile. To help trap heat, I use a roasting pan lid.

What do I grill indoors? Pretty much anything I’d grill outdoors. That means:

Chicken

      (for me, that’s boneless, skinless chicken thighs–I find them more flavorful and less dry than breasts)

Burgers

      –either lean ground beef or turkey

Turkey sausage

      –smoked and sweet or hot Italian (also turkey hot dogs)

Pork

      –either a 1- or 2-lb. chunk of a trimmed whole pork loin, or loin chops that I cut from a whole loin myself

Shrimp
Vegetables

    (particularly onions and peppers)

I use tools similar to what I’d use outside, except smaller–tongs, spatula, fork, and basting brush. The only exception is that I use large grill skewers, rather than risk burning soaked bamboo skewers. I also use cooking spray on the indoor grill.

Those are the basics for me! Do you want to indulge in the flavors of summertime? I’ll do some posts this week on marinades, rubs and sauces, as well as some recipes/ meal combinations.

One thought on “July at Christmas Time

  1. Pingback: New Recipes Needed « Let Them Eat Great!

Leave a Reply

