Satisfying Shrimp Salad

This was my entrée for dinner last night…

  • 2 oz grilled shrimp
  • 2-3 cups spinach
  • avocado, cubed (I used half an avocado because I was lucky enough to have the Weight Watchers POINTS left for it, but you could lessen to 1/4 of an avocado)
  • 1 oz. reduced fat cheddar cheese
  • 2 T peach mango salsa

I grilled the shrimp this weekend, after marinating them in canola oil, lime juice, salt, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, and cayenne pepper, for maybe 20 minutes. (Note: I think next time I will omit the lime juice and squeeze fresh lime juice over the shrimp after they are cooked, because the shrimp started reacting to the lime juice in that short time period.) You could also do this, or grill them with your favorite flavors. You could also pick up some steamed shrimp from the market in your favorite flavor as well, to save time.

Last night, I microwaved my pre-cooked shrimp for 15 seconds, to bring them up to room temperature. I placed them on a bed of spinach, then topped with the cheese, the avocado and the salsa. And then I had dinner!

In the future, I may experiment with making the salsa into a vinaigrette, with a little bit of vinegar (probably apple cider or red wine), canola oil and cilantro. I think the salad was also missing red onion; I would definitely recommend adding some.

One thought on “Satisfying Shrimp Salad

  1. Pingback: Treats from the Smoker « Let Them Eat Great!

Leave a Reply

