Recipe: Pumpkin Fritters

As I mentioned recently, I’ve been in a food rut lately. Fortunately, the Weight Watchers recipe database always has good ideas.

Like this one: pumpkin fritters. Apparently this is a classic South African recipe. I like having an alternative to pancakes that also gets me a vegetable serving.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 15 oz. canned pumpkin
  • 2 large eggs (or do like I do, and substitute in liquid eggs)

The Weight Watchers recipe asks you to separate the eggs and whip the egg whites into soft peaks, but I just mixed all the ingredients together, pancake batter style, and cooked them like pancakes. Weight Watchers calls them snacks, but I have eaten them for breakfast, with turkey sausage or eggs and fruit.

Leave a Reply

