Product Review: Kashi Chocolate Snacks

I have found or created good alternatives to many of the things I used to eat, but I haven’t found a good alternative for chocolate. So when a chocolate urge hits, I often eat a small quantity of real chocolate. Lindt truffles, Ghirardelli squares, a portion of one of those random-sized chunks of dark chocolate that they sell at Whole Foods–any good chocolate that’s going to be rich and satisfying.

But there are other times when I want to taste chocolate but would rather not expend the POINTs for the real deal, or I realize I need something a little more filling to nosh on. To that end, I’ve been fortunate to have found some chocolatey yet filling offerings from Kashi.

I have tried two flavors of the layered TLC bars now–the Peanutty Dark Chocolate, and the Dark Chocolate Coconut. I have enjoyed both of these granola bars, but be warned that the chocolatey layer is mixed with fruit, so it doesn’t have a “pure” chocolate taste. It works for me, though. I have to give the edge to the Peanutty bar, because peanut butter and chocolate are a match made in heaven. (Nutrition-wise, the peanut bar has 130 calories, 4.5 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber, and 4 grams of protein. The coconut bar has 120 calories, 3.5 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber, and 4 grams of protein.)

The other Kashi item that fills my chocolate quota is their TLC Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Soft-Baked Cookies. I like these, but don’t expect them to replace Ms. Fields or the Soft Batch cookies you can get from the supermarket. Personally, I wouldn’t call these cookies “soft-baked.” They are also very dense and somewhat chalky in taste. However, they are loaded with rich-tasting chocolate chips, and that’s what keeps me coming back. I have been eating these as dessert after lunch, and they are chocolatey and dense enough to signal the end of the meal for me. (One cookie has 130 calories, 9 grams of fat, 4 grams of fat and 2 grams of protein.)

Bottom line: The Kashi snack offerings that I’ve tried so far are ones that I find delicious. I have put them into rotation. I enjoy the flavors, and I like that I’m giving good nutritional value to my body. But if you’re looking for an identical, yet skinny analogue of your favorite chocolate snacks, you won’t find it with these. In other words, real chocolate may be your best bet in the throes of a full-on chocolate jones, but if you’re just looking for a sweet dessert or pick-me-up, Kashi’s got you covered.

Leave a Reply

