Deli Antipasto Salad Remix

I was introduced to the pizza joint antipasto salad back in high school. At my first paying summer job, as a secretary assistant, my supervisor was keen on takeout food. I ordered the antipasto salad, and what was delivered to my hands were essentially the guts of a good Philly hoagie, rendered in abstract form, with twirls of meat and cheese camped out on top of the lettuce, tomato, onion and cucumber.

Although I still frequent pizza joints, as I’ve mentioned here (with recommendations for lighter options), I have come up with a salad that gives me the same taste that I enjoyed with the meat- and cheese-laden salad I grew up with. This is how I make it:

  • 2 slices of turkey salami
  • 1 oz of part-skim mozzarella
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato (I usually use grape tomatoes, but you could also use slices or wedges of larger tomatoes)
  • White onion, sliced, to taste (optional)
  • 3 pepperoncini, seeded and sliced (optional)

Roll up the salami and slice it into slivers. Add it on top of your salad vegetables. Add the cheese, onion and pepperoncini, if you’re using them.

I typically eat the salad like this, with the only “dressing” being the juice from the pepperoncini. But you could add a serving fat-free or light Italian dressing, or fat-free or light Caesar dressing. Also, you could go with a slice or two of provolone rolled and sliced; this is the cheese most commonly used in the takeout version of the salad.

You could also add croutons to the salad. I usually eat a starch on the side. Options include:

  • A slice of whole wheat bread
  • A light hamburger bun
  • Mini pretzels
  • Baked chips
Leave a Reply

