Easy Meatloaf, Then a Do-Over

I do most of my cooking on Sunday evenings, and as time drags on in the week, pickings get slim for my family, either because we’ve eaten everything, or because we’re tired of the leftovers.

Fortunately I just solved the second problem for myself this week. One of my leftovers is getting a do-over!

I made meatloaf muffins that we have been eating with steamed broccoli and rice with gravy. (Recipe below.) Rather than freeze the extra muffins, I am turning them into parmigiana sandwiches (Recipe also below.) Here’s the scoop…

Meatloaf Muffins

Ground meat (lean turkey or lean beef), 1.25 lbs. (Go with a pound if you can find it, but it seems like most packages I run into these days are around 1.25.)

  • 1 box of stuffing mix (go with a flavor that coordinates with the meat you have chosen, or just use your favorite)
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • liquid eggs, equivalent to 1 egg (1/4 or 1/3 cup, depending on the brand)

Place the stuffing mix in a large bowl. Add the milk and egg; mix. Let the mixture sit until the stuffing has softened and the liquid has been soaked up.

Add the meat. You can add any spices you’d like to use at this time as well. Mix the meat and stuffing mixture thoroughly, press the mixture into a 12-muffin muffin pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Add the muffin pan, uncovered to a preheated 350-degree oven. Cook until the juices run clear. Makes 12 muffins.

The gravy we’ve been eating with this? Just brown gravy from an envelope, the just-add-water kind. I was surprised to learn one day that it’s a no-fat option for jazzing up many different things.

Meatloaf Parmigiana Sandwich

  • 1 meatloaf muffin, from recipe above
  • 1 small long roll (not sure what these are called, but they’re basically mini hoagie/sub rolls)
  • 1 oz. part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce

Spit the roll without completely cutting it in half. Cut the muffin into quarters, add to the roll.

Top the meat with spaghetti sauce and the cheese. Microwave until the cheese is melted. (Makes 1 sandwich.)

I thought this could work because the meatloaf is soft and tender like meatballs in a good parmigiana sandwich. I realize the taste of the meatloaf doesn’t match a traditional meatball taste; I think I’ll experiment in the future with the flavors of the meatloaf. Adding some garlic, oregano and fennel seed might help (but don’t quote me on that, LOL.)

I’ll be eating one of these myself, with a salad. I made two for my husband.

Leave a Reply

