Holiday Crab Salad

For some reason, I only seem to make this for cookouts, though it’s so easy I really could make it anytime. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 box of whole wheat pasta (I usually go with rotini or penne, but use your favorite shape)
  • 1 can of crab meat or a 1 lb. package of imitation crab meat (Chunk or claw meat for the real crab; chunk or sticks for the imitation. I prefer the real crab meat, but in a pinch–or in a fit of penny-pinching–I have used the imitation meat)
  • 9-12 T light mayonnaise (9 would equal out to 1 T per serving of pasta; 12 would make it a bit more creamy)
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced (Red onion would also work, but I’d use less, as the taste is stronger)
  • Old Bay Seasoning, to taste
  • Lime juice, to taste (I use the bottled lime juice because it’s convenient, but fresh lime would definitely give you a better taste

Cook the pasta according to package instructions; drain and rinse with cold water.

While pasta is cooking, dice the crab meat and onion; add to a large bowl.

Add the cooled pasta to the crab and onion mixture; blend in mayonnaise. Add Old Bay Seasoning and lime juice; mix.

You could eat this right away, but I find it’s better chilled. I eat this as a side in a 1/2-cup serving, but you could make an entrée portion over lettuce with one or two cups.

Leave a Reply

