One Burger, Two Burgers

We eat a fair amount of hamburgers in my house. Sometimes there’s nothing better (or faster) than tossing frozen turkey burgers or sirloin burgers onto the grill and seasoning them simply with salt and pepper, but at other times, I want something more flavorful, or  I need to take advantage of ground meat I have on hand.

As a result, I have been making my own flavored burgers lately. Here are a couple I have created (with either lean ground turkey or lean ground beef):

Barbecue Burgers

  • 1 lb. ground meat
  • 2 tsp. liquid smoke
  • 2 T of your favorite barbecue sauce
  • Raw diced onion, or dried onion flakes to taste

Mix the spices and onion into the meat, shape into four patties, then grill until finished.

Savory Burgers

  • 1 lb. ground meat
  • 2 tsp. liquid smoke
  • Steak seasoning to taste

Again, mix the spices into the meat, shape into four patties, and grill. (You could also add the raw or dried onion to this recipe.)

These days when I make burgers (or hot dogs or sausage), I use light hamburger buns and fat-free cheese slices, along with whatever condiments we want to use (a little ketchup and mustard, pickles and raw onion for me, for example). Serve these with a salad, small servings of typical barbecue sides, or French fries baked in the oven.

Leave a Reply

