Fiesta Pasta Time!

I don’t eat a lot of pasta anymore, but when I do, I go for dishes with a lot of flavor so a little goes a long way. Here’s a recipe I recently made that has Mexican flair.

  • 1 box whole wheat pasta (penne or rotini)
  • 2 boneless chicken breast halves, cooked and diced
  • 1 jar salsa con queso
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 cup frozen corn

Cook the pasta according to box directions; drain, and return to the pot. Mix in the rest of the ingredients.

That’s it! The pasta was hot enough still that everything was heated through, but you could heat through on low heat for a bit, if needed. I think I’d also play around with the spices a little next time I make this–I might add Adobo and some chili powder. Or, I might add a touch of medium-spiced salsa–I’m thinking half a cup.

I dished out about a cup and a half of the pasta mixture for myself for a serving, and I ate it with steamed broccoli on the side. Going with a serving of that size will yield a lot of servings. (I’m going to guesstimate 8, but I will have to break out the measuring cups and  count it out next time!)

Enjoy! Let me know if you try this, and any yummy modifications you’d suggest!

Leave a Reply

