Southwest Hash: Thrown Together From Staples

I wrote earlier this week about the importance of having staple foods. This recipe is a good example of why it’s so important.

This past weekend, folks in the Northeast were told by excited TV newscasters to brace themselves for “Snowtober,” a rare October snowstorm that would leave behind a dusting to several inches of snow, depending on where you lived.

I initially scoffed at the news, and I’d made plans to take my mother and sister food shopping, as we usually do on Saturdays. But my plans were quickly dashed by freezing rain.

I was in a bit of a panic, because I didn’t have a lot of food around the house. Or so I thought. I eventually made the recipe below for dinner last night, using things we normally have around the house. The ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 can corn, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can black olives, drained and cut in half
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4-6 sandwich steaks (beef or chicken; we had beef in the house), broken into small pieces
  • Cumin and chili powder to taste
  • Salt to taste (optional)
  • rice, brown or white, enough for 6-8 servings
  • salsa
  • 1 oz. cheese for each serving (optional)

Heat the onion through in a pan, with or without oil or cooking spray. Add the steak pieces, heat until cooked through. Add the corn, beans and olives, then add spices to taste.

Separately, dish out a serving of the rice; add 1/2 cup of salsa to it and mix thoroughly. Add some of the hash (about 1 cup) to the rice; top with cheese.

The steak and bean mixture should make about 6-8 servings, but I will have to dish them out in the future to confirm. I would eat this with a steamed vegetable on the side.

4 thoughts on “Southwest Hash: Thrown Together From Staples

  1. Hey D!.
    I like this recipe. Its and nice and simple and you can find the ingredients for it in your average no frills supermarket.

Leave a Reply

