Parmesan Tomatoes

When the temperatures drop, I find myself less willing to eat salads. I don’t know why, but this time of year, I’d rather turn to roasted squash or some steamed or sauteed green veggies instead.

If you’re like me on fall/winter salad aversion and find yourself with leftover tomatoes as the temperatures drop, here’s an alternate use for the tomatoes.
The recipe is adapted a bit from one in Your Inner Skinny, by Joy Bauer, the nutrition and health expert for the Today Show. (Check out the book for more recipes, good weight loss and exercise pointers and inspirational stories from successful “losers.”)

  • 2 plum tomatoes, halved and seeded
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2T shredded parmesan cheese (You don’t have to shred yourself; glass jars of shredded cheese can be found in the supermarket where they have the grated parmesan, the stuff that comes in the foil canister and looks like powder.)
  • Minced garlic to taste
  • Salt, pepper and basil to taste (I used dried basil, crumbled a bit in my hands to release oils and flavor, but you could go with fresh basil, thinly shredded.)

Mix the oil, cheese, garlic and spices together. Top each tomato half with 1/4 of the mixture.

Place the tomatoes in an 8″ square Pyrex dish or on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Broil the tomatoes in the oven until the cheese mixture is lightly browned.

Eat two tomato halves as a serving. I ate these for breakfast recently with pumpkin fritters and grilled chicken, but you could also eat them for dinner with a lean meat and more vegetables.

2 thoughts on “Parmesan Tomatoes

    • Yes! Tomatoes are tasty and versatile. I used my remaining tomatoes in omelets for my husband and me this morning. Even if I don’t make any more salads until spring, I’m sure I’ll be using tomatoes in some manner!

      And thank you for visiting my site! : )

Leave a Reply

