My Brain on Weight Loss

Last week, I had a lot of trouble sleeping. I wasn’t stressed; it was more like I was trying and failing to grasp at blog post ideas and plans for the future, like trying to net a group of butterflies that were floating well over my head. I felt inspired and excited about where my life is heading, and I wanted to make better sense of it.

But then the excitement did turn into stress–stress about not sleeping. By Saturday, I was tired and extremely irritable. Sunday wasn’t much better, and then I was sidelined with a migraine.

The weekend made me think about my thoughts. Why couldn’t I turn them off? Why couldn’t I just drop off to sleep, like my husband and millions of other people in the world? Would this insomnia be a perpetual side effect of an inquisitive mind that has found solace in daily blogging?

My frustrated rumination led me to think about my weight loss efforts and how, when I’m on point with the plan, I can easily talk myself out of eating things that won’t help me to lose weight. Why couldn’t I do that with my general thought life? I asked myself.

And then I thought, I can do that. The only thing stopping me is me. What I’ve learned so far about weight loss has the potential to change other areas of my life. My brain on weight loss has proved itself to be capable of more than I ever imagined possible.

I know that a little self-talk can stop me in my tracks on eating poorly, but I’ve never really focused on self-talk to change the course of my self-talk. I’ve heard it said that an undisciplined mind is a dangerous mind (and I’m a witness of that), so I’m willing to give it a try. If it works on the food front, why not in other areas?

There’s a Bible verse that I think of to guide myself in this area:

“Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

This mimics the attitude I take about eating healthy. Rather than focus on my failures or how much effort goes into weight loss, I should focus on the good things–how much more energy I’ll have, how much better my vital stat numbers will be, how much better I’ll feel about how I look… it’s easy to come up with encouraging words. I think I need to give myself the same kind of encouragement for my emotional growth. It’s time for me to be as kind to my mind as I’ve started to be to my body.

Leave a Reply

