Baked Apple Crisp

I first ate apple crisp in elementary school, and the fond memories have stayed with me for a couple of decades. Apple crisp is like a crunchy cousin of apple pie–a hash of mellowed out apples and sweet, crunchy crumbs, sometimes also dotted with raisins. It was a sweet treat that accompanied the entree du jour that I picked up in the lunch line.

After seeing a good sautéed apple recipe on Suck It, Martha site, I decided to experiment and make some apple crisp. It’s still a work in progress, but here’s where I started:

  • 4 apples, cored, peeled and sliced (I used Granny Smith apples. To make things easier, I used the gadget that cores the apple and slices it into 8 wedges Then I peeled each individual wedge and cut them into 3 slices.)
  • 2 T I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light, melted
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 1 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch (or a cheaper knock-off of this brand)
  • 2 T raisins (optional)

Preheat your oven to 350° F. Mix the apples, butter and cinnamon; add to a square baking pan. (I sprayed the pan with butter-flavored nonstick spray, but I don’t think I’ll do that in the future. Also, I didn’t add any sweetener to the recipe, but if you’d like to add some, now would be the time.)

Mix in the raisins and the cereal. Bake, uncovered, until the apples are tender. The end.

When I made the apple crisp this way, the apples turned out fine and were seasoned well, but the cereal was too soft. In the future, I think I’ll either add the cereal in the last 5 to 10 minutes of cooking, or add it to each serving once the pan comes out of the oven.

Do you have any suggestions for me to make this more reflective of my childhood memory? Please let me know of any additions or subtractions you would make.

8 thoughts on “Baked Apple Crisp

    • Sugar is a beautiful thing! : D I am a fan of tart apples, though; that’s part of the reason why I didn’t include sweetener. I imagine you could substitute in another kind of fruit–peaches might be interesting, like a peach cobbler-style thing. Or fresh pears would probably be good, too.

      I like the Kashi products a lot, because they tend to have a lot of fiber and/or protein, and they help me to feel fuller longer. The crunch cereal is good, as is another one they have called Heart to Heart. It’s kind of like Cheerios. They have some good granola bars as well.

  1. I don’t believe I ever make apple crisp the same way twice. The Kashi cereal is a great suggestion! I think the last time I made a.c., I tossed some regular old granola cereal into the crumb mix, and I liked that, too. Oh, and I had a handful of dried cranberries that had been on special at the market, tossed them in, and they really made a difference.
    Have some apples in the drawer that need eating, so I’ll try this tomorrow. Thanks!

    • You got it, Melanie! Cranberries do sound good, too. The recipe that inspired me to make the apple crisp paired cranberries with oranges. I might try that as a way to spruce up the apple crisp.

Leave a Reply

