Cooking Is Not a Spectator Sport

This morning, while I was heating up a pan to cook eggs, I thought it might be a good idea for me to swing the ends of the scarf I was wearing to the back, before it caught fire. I didn’t want to tempt fate because I had had a few mishaps the night before.

First, I nicked a finger with my trusty santoku knife. (Does that mean I shouldn’t trust it so much in the future?) My fingertip is convalescing inside of a Band-Aid featuring Mater from the Cars movie series, courtesy of the first-aid stash we have for my son.

Then, I pretty much got tear-gassed trying to chop an onion. Hands down, this was the worst onion cutting and weeping experience that I’ve ever had! I wished I had a Guy Fawkes mask, like the Occupy protesters, to protect myself from the burning and stinging. It was so bad that the rest of my family felt the wrath of the onion as well, despite not being as close to the offensive fumes as I had been.

If cooking is a sport, it’s definitely not one for spectators. Chopping veggies, stirring pots, flipping chicken parts on a grill, contorting your body to peer into the hot depths of an oven, standing for hours to take a meal (or three) from start to finish–all of these actions require quickness and agility to make sure no burger is dropped or no brownies are burned.

These accidents got me to thinking about how much I love cooking, how much I’m really doing when I’m cooking, and how much I cannot seem to get myself to exercise. I typically cook several meals every weekend, in one day, and I generally end the cooking session feeling tired but accomplished. I wish I could have that same passion for activities that burned more calories!

No, I’m not sweating profusely and breathing deeply while I cook, but it is an activity that I’d be more than willing to do every day, in the early morning or late evening, without hesitation. I can make the same recipes and not be bored with the routine. I can cook when I’m sick. I can cook when I’m tired. I don’t need any special motivation to cook on a regular basis and, if I get injured (like my recent cut and tears) I go back to cooking right away.

I wish I had that same kind of passion for exercise. I mentioned that I enjoy dancing, and I still do, but I haven’t been able to develop a routine to keep up with it.

I envy the stories of people who start walking a little, then a little more, and then they start running and ultimately compete a marathon. I wish I could muster up that kind of dedication for some physical activity, but  I’m still trying to figure out how to balance work and my long commute, family time, running the blog, taking care of my responsibilities around the house, and getting in time for myself. I hear some people say the time when your children are young are the hardest; maybe I’ll have breathing room to add exercise in a more meaningful way in a few years. Or, I’ll be able to do more if one of my other circumstances changes. Until then, maybe I should wear leg weights when I cook…

2 thoughts on “Cooking Is Not a Spectator Sport

  1. I still don’t understand how you have time to cook. I do have some suggestions for someone trying to get exercise. you have the perfect exercise equipment, motivation, and alterior motives. A kid. Playing with the kid is good exercise. Plus U can secretly tire him out for an easy bedtime.

    • You’re right–I could build in more play. The time we spend together is usually more about talking, watching a movie, or something else not physical. I could do.something physical more often.

Leave a Reply

