Blackened Salmon

I am a big fan of salmon. I used to bake it with celery salt and call it a day, but I take it to the next level these days with this recipe.

I’ve adapted this from a recipe in Essence magazine a few years ago. Enjoy!

  • Salmon fillet (I usually go with farm-raised salmon, but choose your favorite variety.) I typically get more than a pound, because I have a household of salmon appreciators!
  • Adobo seasoning, cumin, garlic powder, chilli powder, and cayenne pepper to taste (Omit the cayenne if you’d like to have something a little less spicy.)
  • Oil (I have made this with cooking spray, and with 1 or 2 T of oil. I would recommend using the actual oil.)

Heat the oil in a stainless steel pan on medium-high heat.

Sprinkle the spices to both sides of the fish, rub in well. (I usually start with the skin side first.)

Add the salmon to the pan, flesh side down. Cover and shake the pan periodically, so the fish doesn’t stick. When the fish is cooked through some, flip over. (This is typically after 5 to 10 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish.) Do the same thing for the fish skin side down, shaking the pan periodically.

Check the fish for doneness. If not finished, flip over to flesh side down again, and shake the pan as needed.

Remove the fish from the pan when cooked through.

That’s it! I usually eat this with vegetables on the side–maybe broccoli and sweet potatoes or squash.

6 thoughts on “Blackened Salmon

  1. I, too, agree, anything with spice I am there! I love to add heat to most of my foods. And here’s something I can share with you; hubby and I prefer to buy farm raised salmon over wild salmon. Farms raised cooks up more tender. Obviously that is just a personal preference.

    Very nice to see you back, Danielle! 🙂
    ~Virginia

Leave a Reply

