Look Back… And Celebrate!

Today will be my last post of the year. I can’t help but think back over the course of 2011, as I’m sure you’ve done once or twice lately.

It was an up-and-down year for the world at large, with weather catastrophes like those In Japan, New Zealand and the United States. There were highs, like the Arab Spring uprisings and the death of Osama bin Laden, and then there was a disruption of the status quo, with the Occupy protests and the NBA lockout.

In my life, I started out the year in the upper 180s, made it to 177, and currently find myself at 183 lbs. I made a goal and met it. I started eating frozen fruit for dessert. I explored a love of dancing.  I boldly wore a red dress to work, rather than wait for a night out. I reached out to friends and family a bit more, and I laughed a lot. There were a lot of rough patches during the year, but I learned important lessons about myself, my eating habits, and my resilience.

I will take these memories into the New Year with me. What would I say are the three biggest lessons I learned from these high points?

Goals are not so bad after all. Having a mini goal in mind helped me to stick to the plan, so I will definitely do it again.

It’s better to do nice things for myself on a regular basis than to wait for a particular reason–even when I’m trying to lose weight. I’m not saying this like I have trouble doing nice things for myself; it’s just that sometimes when you’re on a weight loss journey, it feels like you should deny or deprive yourself to get ahead. But it’s better to not hold back, but indulge in simple, appropriate ways instead. That can be something as small as eating a sensible dessert for lunch and/or dinner, or finding ways to ditch a drive for perfection and enjoy life more. When I seek out more happiness in simple ways, I am less likely to seek food for that kind of comfort.

I am more resilient than I give myself credit for. When my weight goes up, I know how to bring it back down. When I have bad moments, I have a support system to lean on; I don’t have to suffer in silence, like I’ve done in the past. These and other high points have let me know that I can get myself back on track after an emotional setback, and I can get myself back on track physically after a weight gain.

It is for these reasons, and many others, that I will celebrate this New Year’s Eve. I am happy to say that I learned valuable lessons, even when things didn’t go the way I’d hoped.

I hope that you, too, will find many reasons to look back and celebrate!

2 thoughts on “Look Back… And Celebrate!

  1. Awesome post, Danielle! You have lifted my spirits today. Thank you! As I type this comment, we finish our year leaving our home of over 4 1/2 years and are preparing to move to a new one. Though we’ve moved a lot in the past 13 years, I want to trust that God knows where He is leading us. I am trying very hard to have faith and trust in Him. 🙂

    Hugs your way, my friend,
    ~Virginia

Leave a Reply

