Chicken Thighs: My MVP

Call me biased, because the chicken thigh has always been my favorite part to eat, but 9 times out of 10, when I make a dish using chicken these days, it’s with chicken thighs.

Why the love? Chicken thighs are more flavorful than breasts, in my opinion, and they are less likely to dry out in cooking. Plus, with their small size, they are already portion-controlled.

I can buy a bag of 8 to 10 boneless, skinless chicken thighs for $5.99 from Aldi. Once I thaw out these thighs, here are some of my favorite things to do with them:

Grill them. This is the easiest way to prepare the thighs, and the one that I use the most. Sprinkle them with spices or marinate them, then throw them on the grill. My favorites are barbecue rub and sauce; jerk spice; and salt, pepper and garlic. Eat them in a light hamburger bun or sliced in a fat-free tortilla, on a salad or with your favorite side on a plate.

Light chicken parmesan. I grill the thighs seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic and oregano, then top them with a tablespoon or two of spaghetti sauce, then a half or full slice of provolone cheese. Eat this with a little pasta and sauce and a salad, or worth your favorite sides.

In the slow cooker. I’ve made a chicken curry with the thighs, with sliced onions and green peppers, curry powder to taste, and chicken stock as the liquid. In the past, I’ve slow-cooked chicken breast with a couple jars of salsa verde; I’d try it with thighs as well, to eat in tortillas. Or, I’d experiment with one salsa verde jar, chicken stock, onions, white beans and cilantro to make a white chili.

If you decide to make boneless chicken thighs your go-to poultry option, like I have, lot me know what you come up with!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Thighs: My MVP

  1. I very much like your seasoning ideas, Danielle, they seem so perfectly yummy! By the way, I have always preferred the dark meat in chicken and turkey. And though I really like thighs, I still prefer the drumstick. But when I can I’ll take the whole leg. 🙂

    I am doing good here with my salads, and I am proud to read that you are too!
    ~Virginia

    • The drumstick is probably my least favorite part, because of that little bone and all the cartilage and gristle. So I would pad that part your easy if I could!

      That’s heat news. I hope you continue to enjoy your salads! : )

Leave a Reply

