The Wide World of Yogurt

I’ve eaten yogurt since I was a little girl–i remember my mom opening a Dannon fruit-on-the-bottom cup and me mixing the gooey, sweet, fruity goodness into the yogurt. My favorite back then was the Dutch Apple flavor (Do they still make it?), but I also loved strawberry. Boysenberry made me scratch my head in confusion (I still don’t know what a boysenberry looks like), and I avoided the lemon flavor at all costs.

The hardest choice back then was picking your favorite favor, but today it’s picking your favorite cultured dairy product, and deciding what to do with it. Here’s my take:

These days, my yogurt of choice is Greek yogurt. I like it because it has a wider range of nutrients than regular yogurt, and because it has a richer taste.

I buy the fat-free Greek yogurt and add things to out myself to spruce it up. They include:

  • Canned pumpkin, cinnamon and nutmeg, with Splenda
  • Honey
  • Unsweetened applesauce, with a little Splenda
  • Apples softened in the microwave and cut into chunks
  • Cereal, with or without any of the items mentioned above, usually Cheerios, Kashi Heart to Heart, or Kashi Go Lean Crunch.

Besides breakfast, Geek yogurt can be used as a substitute for sour cream, because it’s so thick. I haven’t used it in this way yet, but to save money (by way of not buying yogurt and sour cream) and to get the extra nutrition, I’d use the fat-free Greek yogurt in Mexican dishes, in mashed potatoes, and potentially in dips for vegetables and chips.

I also regularly buy kefir, which is similar to yogurt, but more runny. I have used it in place of milk in cereal (usually a smaller serving than I’d do with milk, because I haven’t been able to find fat-free kefir yet), or I just drink it as is.  I’m more likely to buy the flavored kefir than the plain.

I don’t buy regular yogurt too much anymore, unless I don’t want to pay for the extra expense of the Greek yogurt, but when I do, I use it the same way as the Greek yogurt.

Another option would be the low-calorie blended yogurt cups, with artificial sweetener. They seem like a good snack idea, because they are light, pre-portioned, and portable, but I’d rather go with a half cup of Greek yogurt myself, serving it in a half-cup size reusable plastic container.

Do you make different choices when you’re in the dairy section of your grocery store? What are your favorites? How do you use the various options?

3 thoughts on “The Wide World of Yogurt

  1. I never thought about using canned pumpkin. That’s a great idea, and on the Dr. Oz show recently he was pushing the wonderful nutrition of canned pumpkin. I’m trying to eat more yogurt, so any little tip helps!

Leave a Reply

