Waffle Iron Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Sweet Potato Hash Browns, served with a lean ground beef burger.

I was inspired to make this by a recipe I saw for doing a similar thing with white potatoes at Get Off Your Butt and BAKE! I always thought sweet potato fries sounded like a good idea, but I’ve never been successful with making them myself. But I thought that the heat of the waffle iron, plus a thin layer of sweet potatoes, would make this work.

Here’s what I did:

  1. Rinse, peel and grate sweet potatoes. I used 3 small ones to try out the recipe, grating them on the side of my box grater with that large holes that are used for cheese.
  2. Heat up your waffle iron; when it’s ready, spray it with cooking spray. Add a layer of potatoes, sprinkle them with your spices (I went with Adobo seasoning), then spray again with cooking spray.
  3. Heat in the waffle iron until crisp, about 20 minutes. (It may take less time for you, if you have multiple heat settings on your waffle iron.)

My results were crispy and delicious, even though I didn’t get the solid chunks of potatoes that the original recipe promised. But maybe I should be using more potato at a time to make more substantial hash brown patties. If I were to do that, I’d increase the cooking time. Also, I think I’ll follow the recipe for the white potato fries, and flip them over in the waffle iron rather than heating the whole time on the same side.

I’d also try different spices. I loved the Adobo seasoning, but I’d also try salt, chili powder and cumin. Barbecue spice or Cajun spice would also be interesting, I’m thinking.

2 thoughts on “Waffle Iron Sweet Potato Hash Browns

  1. Hi there,
    I’m glad you like these as much as we do. For potatoes that will stay together, here is the trick: Don’t rinse your potatoes…you need the starch to hold them together. Once the potatoes are really crispy on one side, just pick up the whole beautiful sheet, and flip it over.
    I will have to try sweet potatoes as well.
    Thanks for visiting,
    Jonna
    Get Off Your Butt and BAKE!

    • Thanks for stopping by with advice, Jonna! And thanks for sharing your original recipe in the first place. : )

      I typically just bake frozen white potato french fries, but I’ll try raw potatoes in the waffle at some point, too.

      Next time I will try what you’ve shared here. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

