Creamy Peanut Butter Oatmeal

I know that oatmeal is considered to be a hearty, healthy breakfast, but I’ve never been a fan of just plain old oatmeal and water. It’s just too bland for me. So whenever I make it, I usually substitute skim milk for the water to make it a little more creamy.

I’ve always wanted to try oatmeal and peanut butter (people I know who have no qualms about water-based oatmeal swear by this combo) but never did, because the oatmeal-milk-peanut butter combo seemed too heavy. But then I had an idea for how to make peanut butter oatmeal without sacrificing the creaminess: a little Greek yogurt. Fat-free Greek yogurt seems to be an MVP ingredient for many things I make these days! Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1 T reduced fat peanut butter

Cook the oatmeal in the water. (I usually do this in the microwave.) Mix in the yogurt and the peanut butter. Ready! You could also mix in Splenda and/or sliced banana if you wanted.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Peanut Butter Oatmeal

  1. I am one of those people that do love oatmeal, but I really don’t like it made with water. Yuk! (Sorry!) However I do use non-fat milk instead of water. And I LOVE that so do you! And since I am a really big fan of peanut butter, I am going to have to try making my oatmeal your way. As a matter of fact I plan to do this for my breakfast tomorrow.

    Thank you, Danielle!
    ~Virginia

Leave a Reply

