Moroccan Carrots

It would be extremely hard for me to pick one favorite item from the Valentine’s Day dinner I had at Zahav,  but the Moroccan carrots would definitely be in the Top 5.

Using my memory of the dish, and a little Internet research, here’s how I made it at home recently:

  • 1/2 lb. baby carrots (Most recipes cut up the carrots, either into rounds or on a slant, but I used them whole, to save on time.)
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced finely
  • Cilantro to taste (parsley would also work, but I had a ton of cilantro on hand that I needed to get rid of. Or you could omit herbs altogether–the Zahav version didn’t use any.)
  • Ground cumin to taste
  • Salt to taste (I went with low-sodium salt, but use your favorite kind)

Boil the carrots. While they’re cooking, chop the cilantro finely; place it in a small dish. Add the rest of the ingredients (besides the carrots); mix well.

When the carrots are tender, drain them and set them aside to cool (or rinse them with a couple passes of cold water, if you’re impatient like me). Thoroughly mix the carrots and cilantro mixture in another bowl. Serve room temperature or chilled.

Other things I’ve seen added to recipes are paprika and white wine vinegar. I may try one or both of them in the future, to add another dimension of flavor. Cinnamon is another possible spice addition.

2 thoughts on “Moroccan Carrots

Leave a Reply

