Grilled Cheese With Bacon

For some reason, grilled cheese has been on my mind lately. I made some recently in the lightest manner I could think of. But I didn’t skimp on adding bacon to make the sandwich a little more substantial–and tasty. Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 light hamburger bun
  • 1 T I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light
  • 1 or 2 slices of fat-free cheese (I went with the cheddar flavored individually-wrapped slices)
  • 2 slices of center-cut bacon or turkey bacon

I used the inside of the bun as the outside of the sandwich, because I thought it would better mimic the texture I’m used to with grilled cheese sandwiches. Butter the insides of the bun.

Preheat a pan on the stove on medium high heat. (I used a nonstick pan.)

Cook your bacon. (I did it in the microwave, between paper towels, but use your favorite method.) While the bacon is cooking, top the unbuttered side of the bun halves with cheese. Top with the bacon slices, broken in half, when they are ready.

The assembled sandwich, before cooking.

Assemble the sandwich with the buttered sides out. Place the sandwich in the preheated pan. Heat on the first side until browned to your liking, then flip over. Press down slightly on the sandwich while it’s heating on the second side. Remove the sandwich from the pan when it has been browned enough for you.

Cut the sandwich in half.

I ate this with tomato soup and had a good meal!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese With Bacon

  1. When I was trying to lose 100 pounds I stopped eating grilled cheese sandwiches because of the calorie count until I discovered how to do it smarter! I used the Sarah Lee bread that was like 45 calories a slice, ICBINB spray and the slices of cheese that were already measured out. I was able to satisfy the craving without going over 400 calories. It wasn’t QUITE the same, but close…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

