Papaya and Lime: Perfect Together

When I go to Whole Foods, I always buy the container of cut-up papaya and lime wedges. I don’t know who decided to pair papaya and lime together, but I thank that person from the bottom of my heart. I like the delicious tang that a spritz of lime juice adds to the buttery, sweet chunks of papaya. The combination makes a good snack, dessert, or side to a breakfast or brunch.

Not only do papaya chunks taste good, though; they have a good set of nutrients–vitamins C, E, A, folate and potassium, as well as fiber and papain, an enzyme that aids in digestion.

As much as I enjoy my special treat at Whole Foods, I figured I could find a cheaper way to make it myself. And I did.

Here are instructions on how to cut a papaya. I found the instructions after the fact, though; this is what I did instead:

  1. I cut off the ends,
  2. cut it in half width-wise,
  3. peeled the halves by standing them up and running a knife down the sides,
  4. cut them in half,
  5. scooped out the seeds, and
  6. cut it into chunks.

I put the chunks in a Ziploc bag, then followed with two limes cut into eight wedges each.

If you’ve never had this tropical treat, I encourage you to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

