Creamy “Praline” Cream of Wheat

I haven’t had Cream of Wheat in a long time, but I had some cereal packets on hand and decided recently to heat up a bowl over the weekend.

The lightest way of making it (with water) just doesn’t appeal to me in the same way that I am not a big fan of oatmeal made with water. But just like I’ve done for oatmeal recently, giving it a Greek yogurt makeover, I paired up fat-free Greek yogurt and Cream of Wheat.

I brought the flavors of pralines to the cereal to spruce it up a bit, because I thought the sweet nuttiness of caramel and pecans would go nicely with the slightly nutty flavor of the cereal. Here’s what I did:

  • 1 packet of multigrain Cream of Wheat
  • 1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1 T sugar-free caramel sundae sauce
  • 1 T pecans, chopped

Make the Cream of Wheat according to package instructions. Mix in the yogurt, caramel sauce and pecans. The end.

Afterthoughts: When I made the peanut butter oatmeal recently, the sourness of the Greek yogurt didn’t bother me as much, but it was a little stronger with the Cream of Wheat (probably because there was no peanut butter to counter the taste). In the future, I might reduce the Greek yogurt to 1/4 cup, or lose it altogether and just use a mixture of half water and half skim milk to get around the yogurt flavor.

Please let me know of any experiments you choose to do with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

