Soy Chorizo and Potatoes

image

The wonders of social media put me on to chorizo and potatoes, a Mexican comfort food favorite. But the person who discussed it on Twitter made one substitution: soy chorizo.

Specifically Trader Joe’s soy chorizo. It apparently has a cult following. Now that I’ve made the recipe, I can understand why.

The “soyrizo,” as it’s called, works for vegetarians for obvious reasons, but it’s it’s a lighter option for meat eaters than its pork counterpart because it’s much less fatty. What I got was kind of like corned beef hash, except more spicy and, of course, vegetarian.

Here’s what I did to make this delicious entree:

  • 1 package Trader Joe’s soy chorizo
  • Minced garlic to taste
  • 1 onion, roughly diced
  • 4 to 6 white potatoes, cubed. (I cubed russet potatoes to about the size of dice, or slightly larger. I left the skin on, but peel them if you prefer to.)

Take the soyrizo out of the casing it comes in. Crumble it in a stainless steel pan heated on medium heat and coated with cooking spray, along with the garlic.

When heated through, add the potatoes and onion. Sprinkle with any seasonings you’d like to use at this time; I used Adobo seasoning.

Heat the mixture until the potatoes are soft. This took a long time for me, probably because I started off without adding water to the pan. Over my hour or so of cooking time, I added water, approximately 1 1/2 cups, mostly in 1/4-cup increments. In the future, I’d add more water to start.

I served the soy chorizo and potatoes for myself with steamed vegetables, but fruit or a scrambled egg white would be other good light options.

2 thoughts on “Soy Chorizo and Potatoes

Leave a Reply

