Bold Shrimp Cobb Salad

A month or two ago, I had an excellent chicken cobb salad. I don’t know what restaurant it came from, but I requested it during a working lunch to keep myself nourished and engaged, and it definitely hit the spot.

I have wanted another cobb salad since then, but I wasn’t really inspired to do something about it until I saw jalapeno bacon bits on the shelf recently at Walmart. And then it clicked: I wanted to make a cobb salad, but I also wanted to turn up the volume on the flavor. And because the combo and quantity of ingredients in a cobb salad are often pretty heavy, especially when you’re talking about a restaurant entree, I knew I wanted to start with a lighter protein that would still enable me to enjoy all the other usual flavors. I drafted shrimp for that role. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 oz. shrimp (I grilled them earlier, dusting them with Adobo spice, cumin, chili powder and garlic powder. If you can’t or don’t want to grill, you could also pick up steamed shrimp from your grocery store, with Cajun or Old Bay seasoning. Use room temperature shrimp, or if refrigerated, microwave them briefly, about 20 seconds.)
  • Your favorite type of lettuce
  • 1/4 of an avocado
  • 1-2T jalapeno bacon bits
  • 1 boiled egg, sliced
  • 1-2T blue cheese (I didn’t have any in the house when I made this recipe, but I would definitely add it next time!)

Add the lettuce to a bowl. Top with the shrimp, egg, avocado, bacon bits and cheese. You could also garnish with thinly sliced red onion.

I didn’t add salad dressing to my salad, but you could go with light or fat-free ranch dressing. Or you could omit the blue cheese and use a light blue cheese dressing.

Leave a Reply

