Spicy Baked Fish

I am happy to say that everyone in my house enjoys fish. (If you have a child, you can appreciate how big of a deal this is.) Because of that, I typically buy a 2-lb. bag of tilapia fillets for us to eat during the week. At first, I was seasoning all the fish the same way, but now I make a couple different options. This is one.

I was inspired to make this recipe by my sister-in-law, from Ghana, who made something similar for Thanksgiving. Here goes:

The vegetables, seasoning, and oil, to be used as a marinade and topping.

  • 1 lb. fish (thawed frozen or fresh, fillets or whole)
  • 1 large green pepper, diced
  • 6-8 small plum tomatoes
  • 1 large onion, diced (red or yellow onion)
  • Ginger to taste (fresh or powdered ginger. Use more powder than you would use fresh.)
  • Adobo seasoning powder, seasoned salt, or soul seasoning to taste
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 2T oil (I used canola)

Chop up the pepper, tomatoes, onion, and tomatoes. Add the seasoning and oil. Put the vegetable mixture in a ziploc bag or container and let it sit in the refrigerator for a least a half hour to let the flavors blend together.

Then, add your fish to the vegetable mixture, letting it marinate for no more than 20-30 minutes. You can preheat your oven to 350 while the fish is marinating.

The fish and vegetables in a baking pan. It looks like a lot, but it does cook down!

When you’re done marinating the fish, place it in a baking dish and bake it in the oven until the fish is cooked through and can flake easily with a fork.

End notes: When my sister-in-law made this, she probably used fewer vegetables and actually pureed them instead. I believe she also added some tomato paste to the puree, to make a thicker, tomato-based sauce. (Which was delicious!) I made it the way I made it because I was too lazy to pull out the food processor : ). However, using chunks of vegetables does create a fair amount of favorful liquid in the pan, which can be used as a gravy of sorts.

I have made this to  eat with jambalaya rice (box mix, no oil or meat added) or white rice, but you could also eat it with brown rice or couscous, topping your starch with some of the extra vegetables and gravy, if you’d like. Or, you could eat it with a starch vegetable instead–mashed sweet potatoes, squash, etc.

Last thing: I owe you a picture of the finished fish, but I keep eating it and forgetting! I hope to add that soon.

4 thoughts on “Spicy Baked Fish

  1. I LOVE tilapia, Danielle, it is one of my top 3 favorite fish. And this look easy and simply amazing. Thank you for sharing this. And since I’ve seen the frozen bags of tilapia at the store, I am going to pick some up and keep it around in the freezer. Very cool idea!

    Big hugs to you my friend!
    ~Virginia

Leave a Reply

