Curry Chicken Salad

The salad. Lettuce not included. Assembly required.

I started going to Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago, to pick up interesting, healthy foods at lower prices than I find at Whole Foods, and one thing that caught my eye was the chicken tenders coated in curry marinade. I knew they’d be coming home with me one day, and that I’d be grilling them.

Fast forward to this past weekend, and I found myself staring at a mountain of freshly grilled curry chicken. The first thing that popped in my mind to do with the chicken was this salad:

  • 3-4 oz. grilled curry chicken
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1 T pistachios, chopped.

Slice the grilled chicken. Arrange it over lettuce, with the raisins and pistachios. Add sliced or grape tomatoes, if you’d like.

You could add a little thinly sliced red onion to this, and/or some chopped cilantro, if you have any on hand. You also could add shredded carrot and/or chilled green peas.

I didn’t eat it with dressing, but I would’ve made a dressing using fat-free Greek yogurt, cilantro and spices (at least cumin, garlic powder and salt).

Leave a Reply

