Pineapple Angel Food Cupcakes

I’m one of those people who’s more of a salt/fat aficionado, rather than a sweets person, but I do love coconut cake.

After I made the pineapple upside-down cake knockoff recently, I thought coconut might be a nice addition to a pineapple cake. Then, I decided to experiment with making cupcakes instead, for portion control. This recipe is the end result of my dessert brainstorming.

  • 1 box angel food cake mix
  • 1 20-oz can crushed pineapple
  • 1 bag dried coconut (The kind I have is sweetened, but I’d like to seek out the unsweetened next time. I didn’t measure out how much I used, but it was nowhere near the whole bag, or even half of it, for 12 cupcakes.)
  • 1 container cream cheese or buttercream icing

Heat your oven to 375. While the oven is warming up, place the cake mix in a mixing bowl. Add the crushed pineapple; mix thoroughly.

Line muffin pans with muffin cups. (I went with the paper ones, but the foil ones would work, too, I’m sure.) Spoon the cupcake batter into the cups. I filled them almost to the top. You should get about 30 cupcakes, give or take a few, depending on how heavy your batter hand is.

Bake the cupcakes until the batter is set and the tops are golden.(Be forewarned: monitor them closely because they burn on the bottom quickly.) Let the cupcakes cool, then top with icing, and then coconut.

Variation: My son isn’t a fan of coconut, so I only topped half of the cupcakes with coconut, topping the others with icing and sprinkles instead. (The sprinkles were his request; you could, of course, omit them.) To make less caloric, you could pass on topping the cupcakes altogether. One last thought: Part of me is curious to know if it would work to add coconut to the batter with the crushed pineapple. Another experiment for another day!

One thought on “Pineapple Angel Food Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

