Sloppy Joe Meatloaf Muffins

I make meatloaf muffins from time to time, but they’re not one of our family’s top dinner choices. However,  I decided to give them another try with one ingredient addition: sloppy joe sauce.

When I went shopping one weekend, I saw cans of sloppy Joe sauce, and realized that we hadn’t had any sandwiches in a while. But I didn’t really feel like fighting a losing battle with a sandwich full of loose meat. (I was a little picky that weekend, I guess!) Thankfully, the meatloaf muffin idea popped into my head.

I made them on a weeknight. They were quick and delicious!

Recipe

  • 1 lb. ground turkey or lean ground beef
  • 1 box chicken or turkey flavored stuffing
  • 1 can sloppy Joe sauce
  • 1 egg, or 1 serving of liquid eggs

Heat the oven to 350. Place the stuffing in a large mixing bowl. Add the sloppy Joe sauce; mix well. Let the mixture sit for 15 minutes or so, until the stuffing has softened.

Add the meat and the egg .(Add any additional seasoning at this time, too if you’d like; I added a little soul seasoning.) Mix thoroughly with your hands.

Spray a 12-muffin pan with cooking spray and add the meat mixture. Place the pan in the oven and bake the meat until the top is crisp and it’s no longer pink on the inside.

Notes: The meat mixture was a little more wet than I’m used to with meatloaf, so when the muffins were finished they fell apart when I tried to take them out of the muffin pan. But if you’re not as impatient as I was, they should be OK. They were fine the next day, too, after being stored in a plastic ziploc bag.

Leave a Reply

