Chicken Mango Jalapeno Burrito

I keep saying that I need to go to the market and just walk down the aisles and check out everything that’s in there, to find new, interesting items. I got another good reminder of my need to do that this weekend. I knew I wanted to buy some andouille to pair with red beans and rice, but I took a moment to see what other kinds of sausage were available at my local market, and I found this mango jalapeno chicken sausage:

It sounded really interesting and delicious… and the $3 off coupon that was attached to the packaging didn’t hurt, either. So into my shopping cart it went.

I was thinking I’d make burritos with it, because I knew I had a bunch of tortillas and rice at home to use up. And that’s what I did.

Recipe (1 serving)

  • 1/2 Aidells Spicy Mango With Jalapeno chicken sausage (I grilled the sausages, but you could heat them on the stove or in the oven instead.)
  • 1 burrito-sized tortilla
  • 1/3 cup of rice/rice and beans (Use any leftover rice you have–brown rice, white rice. I used some leftover rice and pigeon peas.)
  • 1/2 oz. reduced fat cheddar
  • Grilled or sautéed peppers and/or onions, optional

Dice your half of sausage. Heat through your rice, if it’s left over from another day. Place the tortilla on a plate and microwave for 25 seconds.

Top the tortilla with the rice, then the sausage, peppers and/or onion if adding, and the cheese. Roll it up!

Here’s the “exciting” pic of the finished burrito:

Notes: I wanted to try the sausage, but you could absolutely adapt this for any meat leftovers you have, in addition to the rice leftovers. I wanted to taste the sausage in this, but you could add a little salsa if you wanted. Peach mango might be nice, to complement the flavors in the sausage.

This recipe is for one burrito, but I made a bunch of these at one time: 2 for my husband’s meal, one for me (with a salad of lettuce, tomato, and light ranch dressing). If you want to make more than one at once, heat a bunch of rice at once. I still chopped the sausages half a sausage at a time, though, to keep tabs on portions. I heated the tortillas one at a time, and measured the cheese for each burrito separately.

Leave a Reply

