Baked Parmesan Tilapia and Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf

image

This was dinner on Sunday, a couple of different ideas for a family that likes fish and rice. These two items came together quickly with things I normally have on hand.

Fish Recipe

  • 1 lb. tilapia fillets
  • 3/4 c fat-free Greek yogurt (You could also use fat-free sour cream)
  • 1/4 c parmesan (I used shredded, but feel free to use grated, reduced fat or regular)
  • Your favorite spice combo to taste (I went with soul seasoning)
  • 2 T I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light
  • 2 T Italian breadcrumbs

Preheat your oven to 350. Spray a baking pan with cooking spray. Place the fillets in the pan.

Mix together the yogurt, cheese, and seasoning. Spread the mixture equally on the fillets.

Melt the butter spread. I mixed the breadcrumbs and spread and topped the fish with the mixture, but you could also sprinkle the breadcrumbs on the fish and then drizzle the butter on top.

Bake the fish until it flakes with a fork. One fillet is a serving.

Rice Recipe

  • 3/4 c uncooked orzo pasta
  • 1 1/4 c rice (I went with parboiled rice, but you could use another kind of white rice)
  • 2 T I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light
  • 4 c water

Add the orzo to a microwave-safe dish; add the butter spread. Heat in the microwave for 30 seconds; open the microwave and stir the pasta and spread together. Keep zapping the past and butter spread for 25-30 seconds until the pasta has browned lightly.

Transfer the orzo/spread mixture to a rice cooker, and add the white rice and water. Start the rice cooker. At some point, stir the pot to mix up the rice and pasta a bit. One serving of rice is half a cup.

Notes: I’ve seen the fish recipe before made with sour cream, but I have been big on using Greek yogurt in the place of sour cream for a while in various dishes. It’s such a great all-purpose item to keep stocked, IMO.

I make white rice regularly because my husband prefers it, but I think in the future I’ll experiment with making the pilaf with brown rice. I’d much rather have the extra nutrients in the unstripped rice.

3/4 cup of orzo is a teensy fraction of a box of orzo, so you could make the pilaf numerous times with one box (generally retailing in the neighborhood of a dollar!), or measure out what you need for this recipe and make an orzo salad with the rest.

Some recipes call for chicken stock with the rice. I’m a little leery of cooking rice with chicken stock because it tends to be mushy. But I may have better luck in the future with chicken stock, because I’ve switched from regular long-grain rice to the parboiled rice.

One thought on “Baked Parmesan Tilapia and Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf

Leave a Reply

