The Pizza Project

Skinny meatsa meatsa, word to Little Caesar’s.

I’m all about cooking, spending time with my son, and saving money, so whenever those three things can come together, I’m definitely a happy person!

This happened recently on pizza night. My son and I made pizza together, in the comfort of our own home.

I love the dough, more than you know.

It makes me proud to know that he’s interested in cooking, and I appreciate an opportunity to teach him some of what I know. Pizza ended up being the perfect thing for us to make because nothing is really complicated or dangerous in the assembly (until it’s time for me to put the finished work in the oven), and what child doesn’t like pizza? My son was definitely curious to understand how this mealtime treat comes together.

We made a light meat lover’s pizza and talked about ingredients, measurements, and the typical things that inspire a 5-year-old, like friends and superheroes.

Yours for well under a dollar!

Recipe (for 2 pizzas)

  • 2 packages of pizza crust (the just add water kind)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 cups spaghetti sauce (or you could buy the legit pizza sauce from the market)
  • 1 package part-skim mozzarella
  • 6-8 turkey meatballs, heated and diced
  • 4-6 slices of turkey salami, diced

Preheat your oven to package directions. Prepare the dough to package directions, using water and a little olive oil.

I typically make one pizza at a time, because I have one pizza pan. Stretch the dough onto your pan; top with half of the sauce, cheese and meat. Bake in the oven until it’s heated through to your desired doneness. (I like my cheese to be lightly browned, but if you’re in just melted, gooey cheese camp, go for it.) Then cut, serve and make the other pizza.

Notes: Other family-friendly topping ideas? Turkey pepperoni; lean ground beef; chicken, barbecue sauce and red onion; taco-seasoned ground turkey (with or without black olives, peppers and onions).

Leave a Reply

