Peach-Mango Turkey Kebabs

image

Here’s my first recipe, from my challenge (to myself) to make a kebab recipe a week this summer. I’m kicking off the season with a recipe that’s grill-ready: ground meat skewer kebabs.

I enjoyed the peach mango sausages I had a few weeks ago, and figured I’d try my hand at combining those flavors with other Southwest seasonings. The end result is this half sausage, half burger hybrid.

Recipe

  • 1 package ground turkey
  • Peach mango salsa (1/3 to 1/2 cup)
  • Red or sweet onion, finely diced (I used about a quarter of a medium-sized onion)
  • Cilantro to taste
  • Adobo powder and cumin to taste
  • Minced garlic to taste
  • Lime juice to taste (I used half a lime, but consider it optional)

Mix your ingredients together, and let them sit in the refrigerator a bit to blend. (I waited an hour or so, but you could also refrigerate overnight if you’d like.)

image

When ready to make the kebabs, start heating your grill. Divide the meat into 4 servings. Fashion them around skewers sausage style. (I used long, flat metal skewers, as I will for the rest of the recipes this summer. If you use the shorter bamboo skewers, you would likely have to make more than 4.)

Grill away! Until the meat is cooked through.

Notes: Try adding a little bit of the salsa at a time to your meat, to avoid making the kebabs too goopy to stay on the skewers. (It’ll depend on how firm or watery your ground turkey is. Making this recipe confirmed my suspicion that I need to stop buying Aldi ground turkey… another rant for another day.) You’ll want a consistency that’s pretty close to what you’d have for burgers, but a bit more moist. If you find you’ve gone overboard with the salsa, add bread crumbs, 1 tablespoon at a time. Another thought: lean ground beef would likely hold up to the salsa a bit better.

I served these on fat-free tortillas, topped with a little more of the salsa, some reduced-fat cheddar, spinach, and thinly sliced red onion. I’d also try queso sauce instead of the cheddar.

Leave a Reply

