Yogurt-Marinated Lamb Kebabs

I wanted to make a different recipe to share for my kebab commitment this week, but I guess it’s good that I ended up making this instead, because it demonstrates how fast good meals can come together.

It also demonstrates money-saving, as the meat is coming from a leg of lamb I bought on sale, cut into multiple meal parcels myself, and tucked away, into the freezer.

Recipe

  • 1 lb. lamb, diced into chunks (again, I cut mine from a bone-in leg of lamb, but you could also go with boneless.
  • 1/2 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 1-2 T Shan Seekh Kabab spice mix
  • 4 plum tomatoes
  • 1 large onion

It’s actually for ground meat, but it worked fine for my purposes!

Mix the meat, yogurt and spices together and let them marinate for several hours. (I marinated them in the morning and grilled at night.)

When you’re ready to grill, thread the marinated meat, tomatoes, and onion onto skewers (tomatoes whole, onion quartered), and grill over medium-high heat until the meat is cooked through.

Notes: I served this over whole wheat couscous, with a hunk of lemon on the side. I spritzed my

couscous with lemon recently, and found it to be quite tasty, so I said why not do it again? Topping with a bit of fresh chopped cilantro is another thought.

I bought the Shan spice mix at an Indian market, but if there isn’t one near you, you may find something similar in the international aisle of your grocery. Or, buy an Indian cooking sauce to mix with the yogurt–I’d say using equal parts yogurt and sauce.

Consider marinating other meats in yogurt, too. It’s a common choice in Indian cooking, but I think it could be useful with anything. For example, I’d try it as a stand-in for buttermilk in oven-fried or regular fried chicken.

2 thoughts on “Yogurt-Marinated Lamb Kebabs

  1. This sounds great– I have been wanting to branch out into cooking a little Indian-flavored food, and our poor grill has not seen much action lately. Need to fire it up. Like the sound of the lemon spritz, too.

Leave a Reply

