Chipotle Meatballs

Probably about 10 years ago, I picked up a Mexican cookbook, made by the Ortega company to celebrate a key milestone in their history. The book is now well-worn, the pages dusted with flour and cornmeal. It has been one that I’ve used over and over again.

So when I saw a McCormick seasoning packet for chipotle meatballs (Yes, I intend to try every seasoning packet that catches my eye!), I knew exactly what they were, thanks to that Ortega cookbook. I never made the book’s recipe for albóndigas al chipotle (chipotle meatballs) in a soupy sauce, but in looking at the ingredients and process on the seasoning pack, I knew it would be simple to try.

The Ortega recipe takes you from start to finish, making meatballs from scratch, but this prices is much quicker, thanks to frozen meatballs.

Recipe

image

30 1-inch turkey meatballs (cooked and frozen or thawed)
1 McCormick Albóndigas al Chipotle seasoning packet
15-16 oz of tomato sauce (depending on whether you use two 8-oz cans or one 15-oz can)
Water per package instructions

Mix the water, tomato sauce and seasoning in a saucepan. Boil the mixture, then add the meatballs. Heat until the meatballs are heated through.

Notes: I ate these with couscous and steamed spinach, but brown or white rice would also work, as would whole wheat or white pasta. You could also mix some grilled peppers and onions into the finished meatballs/sauce combo.

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Meatballs

  1. This looks awesome. I’ve been obsessed with chipotle seasoning lately – but a little bit goes a long, long way. Learned that the hard way!

    • Thanks! It was good! I’m with you–I’m very interested in chipotle seasoning these days but it is something you have to use lightly. I look forward to experimenting with it a little more!

Leave a Reply

