Honey Mustard Barbecue Meatballs

IMAG2355I saw a honey-chipotle recipe on Pinterest, courtesy of Martha Stewart, that sounded pretty interesting. And it actually didn’t sound like a super elaborate Martha Stewart recipe, either, but I was still looking for something to come together quick. I decided to make up my own flavors and make the meatballs meatloaf style.

When I make meatloaf these days, I make it as meatloaf muffins, using stuffing mix. Here’s how I translated that to easy meatballs:

1 package lean ground beef (or ground turkey)

1 package stuffing mix

1 egg (or 1 serving of liquid eggs)

1 c water

1/2 c barbecue sauce

1/2 honey mustard

Combine the stuffing mix, egg and water in a bowl; let it sit for 15-20 minutes for the stuffing to soften.

Mix in the ground meat. Form the meat mixture into balls. (I forgot to count, but I guesstimate I got between 25 and 35 meatballs… I’ll have to update with the actual amount next time…) Place the meatballs on a pan sprayed with cooking spray. Spray the meatballs with a little spray.

Bake in a pre-heated 350-degree oven until browned, about 20 minutes.

While the meatballs are baking, mix together the barbecue sauce and mustard. When the meatballs are done and cooled, gently mix them with the sauce.

I served them with broccoli and peas, four or five to a serving.

Leave a Reply

