Like Thanksgiving on a Weeknight

I’m writing this post at almost 9:00 p.m. on a weeknight, with the smell of roasting turkey wafting through the air. Crazy? Maybe, but I’ll be thankful to have a boatload of turkey breast for the next few days to use for whatever my mind comes up with.

The thing that’s most on my mind is salads. I ate at Saladworks a couple of weeks ago, for the first time in years, and I saw a sign in the restaurant that said all their salads are 500 calories our less. (I’m assuming that’s without dressing or a roll on the side, but still.) That got me thinking about what kinds of salads I could come up with, using turkey. And that’s why my house smells like Thanksgiving several months after the fact.

It’s been a year since I’ve done a salad challenge; why not do another? This time, though, rather than a month’s worth of salads, I’ll report back at the end of next week on my ideas.

I still have a good two hours to go on cooking this mouth-wateringly scented bird. I would’ve much rather just bought a cooked turkey breast, but I never seem to time my weekday market visits right for when they’re available. (If someone knows a good process for cooking a turkey breast in the slow cooker, please let me know for the future!) I’ll keep up my inhalation of this heady aroma, and see what visions of turkey salads start dancing in my head. Thank goodness I’ve just started getting into Doctor Who on Netflix; that’ll also keep me busy in the meantime!

Stop back next week, and I’ll share what became of the turkey salad challenge.

One thought on “Like Thanksgiving on a Weeknight

Leave a Reply

